Photography–Little Town of Edison #2


DSCN5383I don’t get out much to Edison because the only way for me to get there is by car. However, I recommend stopping off at this rural town and arts community on the edge of Whatcom and Skagit counties in Washington State.

The best way to get there is on the Chuckanut Highway heading south. The views along the highway take your breath away and can cause vertigo (I attest), but you can see the glimmer of the San Juan Islands on the horizon as you drive past old forests and the Salish Sea.

Edison received a face lift in the past ten years. Sleepy and quaint has given way to expensive yuppie tourists, however, the postcard perfect architecture and bucolic farms provide fodder for the camera. Visiting the art galleries and stopping by the bakery or cycling through provide worthwhile endeavors. Bird watching goes well too.

I like the place so much I set my short story, “On the Road to Edison” in this region (look for the video/podcast on my YouTube channel, Patricia Herlevi). The town reminds me of that classic television show, “Northern Exposure” (filmed in Washington State).

 

All photographs by Patricia Herlevi, All Rights Reserved

Edison, Washington

